Dear Audiences, near and far,

The three of us, Andres Joho, Raimund Wiederkehr and Samuel Zünd, musicians and curators of the St. Moritz Retreat Concerts, are delighted to share with you the new programme for this year’s series of concerts! With many years’ experience in the classical, theatrical and entertainment worlds as pianists, conductors, singers and bandleaders, we are very conscious of the time-honoured tradition of the St. Moritz retreat salon concerts. As such, we plan to maintain the proven, unmistakable and evergreen style of the retreat and salon orchestras. However, we will be introducing a few fresh notes and humour to the concert series, enriching even further this cultural offering that delights guests and locals alike throughout each summer season. All of the concerts will be presented by an entertaining host and are sure to appeal to all generations.

The ambience of the new venue is a perfect match for the traditional salon orchestra concerts: the spacious, newly renovated belle époque hall (Vic’s Bar) in the Hotel Reine Victoria adds to the atmosphere of prestige and enjoyment.

You can look forward to arrangements of classical works and operas, operetta melodies and Viennese music along with songs from the Roaring Twenties, cabaret music, swing, canzoni and folk music and standards from the Great American Songbook.

In addition, repeated events called “breakouts” are planned; these are special concerts in special locations, often combined with scenic elements:

●      Valkyries In The Trees” The first act of Richard Wagner’s Valkyrie / Die Walküre opera will be performed by three singers, three musicians and a sword Schwert. The backdrop for this epic music drama is the forest behind the Eglise au Bois – a unique performance blending music and nature that will thrill not just Wagner fans!

●      “Peter, the Wolf and Other Animals” will play for the youngest listeners in the beautiful theatre of the Hotel Reine Victoria.

●      You will also be able to enjoy “Operettas in 20 Minutes” and the magnificent Children’s Operas byJörg Schneider und Emil Moser, written for the Zürich Opera.

We are looking forward to spending an exhilarating musical summer with you!

Andres Joho

Raimund Wiederkehr

Samuel Zünd

Liebes Publikum von fern und nah,

Wir, die drei Kuratoren und Musiker der St. Moritzer Kurkonzerte, Andres Joho, Raimund Wiederkehr und Samuel Zünd freuen uns ausserordentlich, für Sie das neue Programm der diesjährigen Konzertreihe präsentieren zu dürfen! Wir sind alle seit vielen Jahren als Pianisten, Sänger und Bandleader im Bereich der gehobenen Unterhaltungsmusik unterwegs. Der langen, ehrwürdigen Tradition der St. Moritzer Kurkonzerte bewusst, werden wir den bewährten, unverwechselbaren und immergrünen Stil der Kur- und Salonmusik weiterführen. Wir möchten aber auch frische Noten und neuen Spielwitz in die Konzertreihe bringen, um Ihnen, den Gästen und Einheimischen, während der Sommersaison diesen «kulturellen Service» bieten zu können. Alle Konzerte werden unterhaltsam moderiert und für alle Generationen ein Vergnügen sein. Die neue Spielstätte passt perfekt zum Stil dieser Morgenkonzerte: Im grosszügigen Ambiente des neu renovierten Belle époque-Saals (Vic`s Bar) im Hotel Reine Victoria werden alle Sinne zu einem Gesamtgenuss zusammenfinden.

Sie können sich auf Bearbeitungen klassischer Werke und Opern, Operettenmelodien und Wiener Musik sowie Songs aus den Roaring Twenties, Cabaret-Musik, Swing, Canzoni, aber auch Volksmusik oder Standards aus dem Great American Songbook freuen.

Daneben sind neu immer wieder sogenannte «Breakouts» vorgesehen; das sind spezielle Konzerte an besonderen Orten, oft mit szenischen Elementen verbunden:

  • «Wald-Küre» - der erste Akt der Oper «Walküre» von Richard Wagner wird mit drei Sängern, drei Musikern und einem Schwert aufgeführt. Mehr braucht es nicht für dieses grossartige Werk. Das  Bühnenbild ist der Wald hinter der Eglise au bois - ein einmaliges Musik-Natur-Schauspiel. Nicht nur für Wagner-Fans!

  • «Peter, der Wolf und andere Tiere» werden für die kleinsten Zuhörer musizieren, im wunderschönen Theatersaal des Hotels Reine Victoria.

  • ● Ebenfalls im Reine dürfen Sie «Operetten in 20 Minuten» erleben und die herrlichen Kinderopern von Jörg Schneider und Emil Moser, die für das Opernhaus Zürich geschrieben wurden.

Wir freuen uns auf einen wunderbaren, musikreichen Sommer mit Ihnen!

Andres Joho
Raimund Wiederkehr
Samuel Zünd